Stephen Marley Announces ‘Old Soul’ Album: Full Tracklist and Release Date Revealed

Stephen Marley is back with his fifth studio album, “Old Soul”, releasing on September 15, 2023, via Tuff Gong Collective/UMe/Ghetto Youths International.

The album is a star-studded affair with features from iconic musicians such as Eric Clapton, Bob Weir of The Grateful Dead, Jack Johnson, Ziggy Marley, Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley, Buju Banton, and Slightly Stoopid.

Having captivated audiences with his 2016 release, “Old Soul” is a testament to Stephen’s musical prowess, seamlessly melding his impeccable studio craft with an unmatched live performance energy.

Finding inspiration during the COVID lockdown, Marley birthed many of this album’s melodies on a serene family farm in Florida. Here, a humble garage transformed into a musical haven, echoing with sounds ranging from original compositions to classics by musical giants like Ray Charles and The Beatles.

On the subject of his diverse sound palette, Stephen reflects, “Music is boundless. If a genre resonates with me, I embrace it.”

A precursor to the album was its evocative title track, capturing Marley’s musings on his childhood and legacy in the Marley family.

Highlights include collaborative gems like “There’s A Reward” with Ziggy Marley, honoring Joe Higgs, and “Cast The First Stone” featuring Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley. The talents of Buju Banton, Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid, and Eric Clapton further enrich the album.

For the finale, “Winding Roads” brings together Bob Weir and Jack Johnson, promising listeners a memorable musical journey.

Stephen, speaking on “Old Soul”, shares, “Each song is a distinct chapter in a larger story. Our aim was to keep it fresh and soulful.”

The diverse tracks span from the melodious tones of Sinatra’s “These Foolish Things (Reminds Me Of You)” to the heartfelt notes of The Beatles’ “Don’t Let Me Down.”

Old Soul Complete Tracklist:

  1. “Don’t You Believe”
  2. “Cool As The Breeze”
  3. “Cast The First Stone” – Feat. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley
  4. “Thanks We Get (Do Fi Dem)” – Feat. Buju Banton
  5. “Don’t Let Me Down”
  6. “Georgia On My Mind”
  7. “Let The Children Play”
  8. “Old Soul”
  9. “There’s A Reward” – Feat. Ziggy Marley
  10. “This Time”
  11. “These Foolish Things (Reminds Me Of You)”
  12. “I Shot The Sheriff” – Feat. Eric Clapton
  13. “Standing In Love” – Feat. Slightly Stoopid
  14. “Winding Roads” – Feat. Jack Johnson and Bobby Weir & Wolf Bros

“Old Soul” is now available for pre-order. Dive deep into Stephen Marley’s latest musical odyssey.